Wednesday, 26 July 2017

Review of What She Lost by Susan Elliot Wright

Review of What She Lost by Susan Elliot Wright


Eleanor and her mother Marjorie have always had a difficult relationship and although they’ve tried, they have somehow just failed to connect.
    Now Marjorie has Alzheimer’s, and as her memory fades, her grip on what she has kept hidden begins to loosen. When she calls her daughter to say, ‘There’s something I have to tell you’, Eleanor hopes this will be the moment she learns the truth about the terrible secret that has cast a shadow over both their lives.
    But Marjorie’s memory is failing fast and she can’t recall what she wanted to say. Eleanor knows time is running out, and as she tries to gently uncover the truth before it becomes lost inside her mother’s mind forever, she begins to discover what really happened when she was a child – and why…
    A story of family and secrets, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell.

A big thank you to the author for providing me with a copy of this lovely book. I loved the cover and the blurb and couldn't wait to get stuck in! The mystery of the secrets between Eleanor and Marjorie were really intriguing and they drew me towards this book.

My review

I found this novel to be an emotional page turner. This is the first book that I have read by the author but it certainly wont be the last one. What a story! This tender and powerful story had me gripped from the outset. I loved reading about the lifestyle of the North Yorkshire coastline. The author has great skill in her writing enabling her to change between time frames and characters in the novel with ease, so a potentially confusing story, flowed marvellously. Some gritty themes were covered sensitively, such as mental health and dementia.

It was painful to read about Eleanor's plight, desperate to find out the truth before her mothers memory fades. Peggy is a wonderful character in the novel and provides a warmth throughout the story. I highly recommend this fantastic, thought provoking book.

Buy the book here: http://amzn.eu/fyE0TMs

More about the author:

Susan Elliot Wright grew up in Lewisham in south-east London. Before becoming a full-time writer, she did a number of different jobs, including civil servant, cleaner, dishwasher, journalist, and chef.  She has an MA in writing from Sheffield Hallam University, where she is now an associate lecturer, and she lives in Sheffield with her husband. She is the author of The Things We Never Said and the Secrets We Left Behind. To find out more, visit her website: http:/www.susanelliotwright.co or follow her on Twitter @sewelliot.

No comments :

Post a Comment